The must watch Christmas movie list!!

It is the second day in December, which means only one thing… Christmas is coming. The temperature has dropped (even in Melbourne where it is now officially summer), the grass is crunchy, the days are shorter, the infamous sound of Maria Carey is blasting through every shop speaker and the car windows need some serious morning scraping (only if your in Europe and have a car of course).

This year will be a very unusual Christmas for me, as apparently it’s going to be roasting, but so far we might as well be in the UK as the weather is getting colder and wetter. The one thing that has been getting me through this rubbish Spring weather in Melbourne, is my excitement for Christmas. Naturally, the best way to get excited for Christmas is to watch all the classic Christmas films you’re not supposed to watch any other time of year. So I decided to write out a list of films to watch (is it obvious I have been unemployed and very bored?). It has been really difficult to put them into order, so here is my Christmas movie list in no particular order;

A White Christmas – I have never watched it but apparently its a classic, so it’s on the list.

A musical which came out in 1954, based upon two ex-soldiers. The film was it’s first of its kind as it was released in VistaVision a widescreen process created by paramount.

Who did it best, Mean girls or White Christmas?

Four Christmases – Who doesn’t love Reece Witherspoon? I can safely say I can cross this one off of the list as we have already watched it.

The nightmare before Christmas – I am honestly unsure if I have actually watched this film, but being by Tim Burton you can’t go wrong. Maybe it doesn’t have as much in the festive spirit as the likes of, White Christmas but I guess I’ll find out.

Halloween meets Christmas

The Snow Queen (2002) – Every year I forget the name of this film and describe it to my mum and she says its this. Honestly, I am unsure if this is even the film I am thinking off, but this film was my favourite Christmas film as a child as I always remember how bright the colours were as they are passing through the seasons. I know, I am not exactly selling this well, and if it is the right film I’ll get back to you – but I am pretty sure it is. Moving on…

The nutcracker – One of the best stories there is with many adaptations in film, it is still by far one of the best. My personal favourite was Barbie and the Nutcracker which holds a lot of childhood memories for me, but there are endless versions.. you could watch all of them alone and it would take you right up until Christmas (maybe)!!

Frozen – Need I say more?

Nativity – The first film in the trilogy is definitely the best after that just move on and watch one of the other films I’ve picked out.

Arthur Christmas – I honestly love this film, Sony Pictures pulled out all the stops to create a heartwarming Christmas film that had the underlying message to never give up. Never give up on what you believe in and always wear Googlie eyed reindeer slippers!!

Whats not to love?

The Santa Claus – When I looked up this film I honestly could not believe how old it is. 1994!! This comedy starring Tim Allen creates the right atmosphere at Christmas with every child’s wish of getting to meet Santa coming true. Tim Allen must be in most of the best Christmas films of all time?

A Christmas Carol – Any of them. I used to be scared of this film. This year the BBC are releasing a three-part A Christmas Carol written by the same people who wrote Peaky Blinders and, Tom Hardy will be in it. Could become my favourite yet..

It’s a wonderful life – I have been desperate to see this film ever since a clip of it was featured on one of the Network adverts in the UK, and I realised it was a Christmas film. It has been voted the UK’s favourite Christmas film, with its most famous line said by George Bailey, What do you want Mary? do you want the moon? Just say the word and I’ll throw a lasso around it and pull it down.

*crying*

Jack Frost – As an adult, this film has made me cry more than any other film. A grieving family create a snowman who awakens with the spirit of the lost father! Some Freaky Friday kind of vibes

The Snowman – This film is the reason my sister decided she wanted to learn Highland dancing and not Ballet. My mum took her to see this in the theatre as a child and she decided she wanted to be like the one in the kilt (too right!). It is also a very funny Irn Bru advert, (give it a watch) and a book we grew up being read at bedtime (when I say we I mean the whole of Scotland).

Polar Express – It’s on my list but I’m not sure I enjoy it. I find this film really weird and kind of creepy.. am I the only one?

The Holiday – this film gave me false hope as a youngster of how the real world works. None the less, it is a beautiful film for Christmas time as it truly warms the heart.

Miracle on 34th Street – yet again, another film I have not seen. Which is ridiculous considering I’ve always wanted to watch it, this year will be my year!

Home Alone 1|2|3 – Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without fitting in one of these three films, I’d go with the first and it’s definitely the best!!

A young boy who’s left at home protects his house from burglars by getting up to all sorts of pranks and mischief.

Love Actually – This film is, to me, the best film at Christmas which is not a kids film. It drops names left right and centre and has an incredible amount of iconic moments such as the notecard scene, To me you are perfect. Of course, it also has the late Alan Rickman (Severus snake does loving, or not so loving, relationship). But let’s be honest, this film is so far from being politically correct that they could never make one like it again.

The Grinch – there was a new animated version of the Grinch released last year (which I haven’t seen, shock horror!) so maybe I’ll give this one a go this year.

Elf – Finally we end with Elf. The worlds most famous Christmas film which is now a theatre production!! Elf will never get old, my flatmates keep joking that I am going to do an Elf and they’re going to go downstairs one day to find Santa’s Grotto in our living room.

There you have it, 23 films to keep you busy and feeling extremely festive right up until Christmas day! Hopefully, you can be more decisive about your order, as I am rooky and haven’t watched half of them it’s quite difficult for me to put them in order! Maybe next year.

Happy Christmas movie watching!!

5 thoughts on “The must watch Christmas movie list!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.