It’s that time of the month

This week I’ve decided to draw my attention to the female body as I recently had my Implant removed, (a rather gory procedure that Iain sat in on) because I absolutely hated it. I wish I could lie to you and say it was amazing or it just didn’t work for me, but I genuinely hated it. It made me miserable and ruined many an item of clothing, especially my favourite pair of pyjamas!!

It was like a tiny lollipop stick in my arm, I got to see it after the doctor took it out and I could not believe that it was controlling my hormones. Apparently, I have a high pain tolerance which made it slightly difficult to get out, the doctor had to keep injecting an anaesthetic into my arm before I couldn’t feel it being removed – sorry that’s the gory bit over, you can safely read on.

Literally ever since it has been out I have been so much happier and have returned to my normal self (thank god! What a bitch I was being, oops).

One thing I will say that got me through the whole process was the DivaCup (and a whole load of tantrums), a sort of replacement for tampons and pads. I hadn’t actually heard about it until this time last year but it really has changed my life. I’ve always been super unlucky with my period and I was quite annoyed at how long it had taken me to hear about the cup.

I am about to blow your mind with this but:

By not using the cup you will spend around £240 more a year on period care – a cup costs around £12 and it can last up to 5 years.

The cup can do the job of around 1700 tampons, the environmental impact is immense. Could you imagine everyone made the change?

The clutter in your handbag will decrease due to only having one item for the next 5 years.

The cup collects your flow and does not absorb it, therefore it will not cause irritation. It is made from silicone which is a common material used for the body and made with no harmful chemicals which will allow you to feel amazing whilst experiencing the worst week of the month.

It is bloody brilliant – no pun intended.

The one thing I really don’t understand is why we are sending females who are suffering from period poverty, tampons and pads which have a lifespan of 8 hours or less. We should be gifting women the correct amenities, to remove them from the period poverty bracket and allow them the pleasure of a stress-free five years worth of period protection.

In Scotland this year, every university and college introduced free tampons and pads in the female toilets, but what if women had the option to purchase a discounted cup or be given one for free when requested. It’s hard to think that I lived 21 years of absolutely no knowledge of the cup, along with plenty other females who hadn’t heard of it either.

I hope this blog can change somebody else’s life, the way that my friend who told me about the Divacup changed mine.

https://divacup.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.