Drawing of the week (or Month)

At the moment it appears that I am really struggling to keep up with posting and writing in general. I’ve been really bored over the last few weeks, just trying to figure out what I am doing and hoping that something finds me and pulls me back to life.

I watched a Woody Allan film last night that made me realise that I need to stop forcing everything to happen all at once and life to just be perfect.

If you have Netflix you almost definitely know what film I am talking about, If the Van Gogh Starry Night front cover wasn’t enough of a hint then the all-star cast is, Tom Hiddleston, Owen Wilson and Rachel McAdam. Midnight in Paris is a film about a writer who finds himself back in 1920’s Paris, mingling with the likes of Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Picasso and Matisse.

The film was just what I needed for a Thursday night and an excuse to eat a bag of popcorn. But in hindsight it provided me with a lot more satisfaction than I ever intended, I was hoping for a relaxing evening watching a feel-good film and an hour and a half of looking at Tom Hiddleston (what more could you want?). However, as a creative it began to make me realise that when these people were creating art, Novels and artwork, they were not famous, they did not love the life they were living and they were trying to escape to a different life.

I am the kind of person who gets frustrated when I cannot do something straight away, when I have to take my time and learn from the beginning to the end, I work hard but get fed up quite quickly if it isn’t working. Watching this film gave me a sense of relief, as life right now is extremely slow-moving for almost everyone (unless you are in Healthcare, currently working your socks off and bossing it). Especially within the creative industry you should be making work you enjoy and are happy with and not trying to become somebody you think you should be.

So on that note, I will be attaching this week’s Drawing of the week, I admit it the first drawing of the week in around a month. I’ll rename it to drawing of the month I think haha.

Anyway, here’s a small insight into a book my dad is writing. The amazing holiday.
I will do a post about the book once it is finished, but for now, this will do.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.