Adulting

This week I bought a couple of plants (truthfully Iain bought me them for Valentine’s Day) I really want to look after something, prove to myself. I can do it and I will do it (I’m hoping this will make my argument to get a pet more compelling). This came about on the back of our new flatmate gifting me one of the plants that he didn’t have room for any more, and I killed it.

Dead plant.

I was so concerned about looking after it making sure it had enough water etc that I gave it too much and killed it – evidently, my plant knowledge is severely lacking.

So this gave me the incentive to try again, (F.Y.I the plant is slowly coming back to life after many days drying out in the sun.) we took a trip to Bunnings, which is the Australian version of B&Q, (but it still has a cafe) and wandered around the Nursery – otherwise known as the garden centre section.

As we wondered we realised we know absolutely nothing about plants and which ones to get, so we did a little googling whilst there about which plants are the best house plants and picked up a couple that we liked the look of. I had to text my mum asking her what we do next, so far all is well and my plants are alive as I haven’t watered them yet. I might repot one of them as its currently in an ugly plastic tub which doesn’t fit into any nice ceramic ones!

All in all, I am very happy with our purchases, our room feels more like our home (to me anyway, Iain said he liked the plants so I feel like it was a good move). My next challenge is going to be putting some plants out on the balcony so we have a little garden to look at and look after. I feel as though when you’re looking after something you have a little bit more of a purpose, something to focus your time on.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.