The flat Christmas party

It was the hottest day of summer yet, (so it felt) and we all had the aircon on whilst singing and dancing to the traditional Christmas songs – the ones that sing about snow. Yet we couldn’t go outside, because it was too hot, a problem which I am not familiar with.

The flat Christmas dinner had been planned for a couple of weeks, we all had our cooking roles and we all had our own traditions we were going to bring to the table. As our flat currently consists of 2 Kiwis, 1 English, 1 Scot and 1 Scot/Aussie we had a variety of traditions which we all wanted to include. But there is one very important thing that Australian Christmas does not include, Pigs in blankets.

I feel as if I have been explaining what Pigs in blankets are too people for weeks now, the concept of them confuses people and the fact none of the supermarkets sell them, confuses me. Honestly, I went into Australian Christmas very naively and did not take into consideration that everyone creates Christmas differently.

So it became official that we were going to make our own Pigs in Blankets. Something I have never done before, and hope that next Christmas I wont have to do again. Not only did we have to make our own Pigs in Blankets but we had to make our own Yorkshire puddings.

I realise I am yet to explain what a Pig in blanket actually is, so for all you none Brits out there who have absolutely no idea what I am talking about.. here it is.

A small sausage, Chipolata, wrapped in Bacon. That’s it, but oh my it is worth it.

We also made, Roast potato’s, Green beans, Ham, Yorkshire puddings and mulled wine (yes, hot wine on a hot day, we definitely had the air-con on). The whole dinner went down a treat, besides the fact it was absolutely boiling and you could not eat nearly as much as you’d eat back home whilst wearing your knitted jumper and watching the snowfall outside.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.