Why doesn’t Australia celebrate Halloween!?

Is it too late for a Halloween post?? Here’s to my forgotten Halloween post 11 days later.

As you all know we have just entered November, all be it a very different month of November than I am used too. For one, I don’t think I have ever been this tanned in November, I have never been to a hot country at this time of year. The furthest I have ventured would be Canada and it’s not exactly warm there during the winter.

However, Australia isn’t as warm as everyone seems to make out. We’ve been here for a month now and the warmest it’s been was one 40 degrees day in Sydney, which we spent driving. I’ve slept with a ‘dooner’ (duvet) on almost every night and been cold more than once – it’s all lies (for spring anyways).

It was a shock to the system when Halloween came around and it wasn’t -1 in the evening (imagine?!). Being brought up in Scotland you learnt to get on with it rather than to change your costume because of the weather. There has been many a Halloween night I have literally frozen but it’s okay because it’s Halloween and everyone’s the same.

This has been the first year that I haven’t carved a turnip or pumpkin. A turnip? I hear you ask, yes my family carved turnips. It seemed to be a tradition and I always assumed it was because the waste you carve out mum cooked with and she didn’t like pumpkin – I should probably ask her the real reason, is it a Scottish thing? Let’s pretend so.

I asked Iain to carve a pumpkin with me, that was a no. I mentioned it to Iain’s aunt we were staying with and she wasn’t a fan of the idea or even Halloween. So the real question is do the Aussies dislike Halloween?

We went out the weekend before Halloween and no one was dressed up, shocked? Me too. On the 31st we didn’t see any children dressed up guising (trick or treating) and only the occasional house had decorations up. I can’t deny it, I was expecting Australia to be a little more like America than this, oh how wrong. This just means that when Christmas comes around Iain and I will be going for the full Santa’s grotto look.

Speaking of Christmas, it was hailstones in Melbourne the day after we arrived, our first full day we were here. I have never been so ill-prepared for the cold weather in my life, all I wanted was to go home, watch a Christmas film in my fluffy pyjamas (of course) and drink hot cider. When I said this to the family we are staying with, they ooo thought we were having them on, that hot cider didn’t exist and neither did Mulled wine. Too my fellow Scots, could you imagine a life without hot alcohol to get you through the freezing winter? Neither. We have struck a deal with them, when they put their Christmas decorations up we will make them hot cider or mulled wine, even if it is 30 degrees.

As I have no photos from this years Halloween, here are a few from last year.

The scariest pirate you ever did see
Aberdonian seagull
Iain and his friends stealing everyone’s food

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.