My new art project

A new art project, well sort of new. Back in Scotland I actually studied fashion and textiles in school and really loved it… Perhaps I should have studied it at university instead… (I pretty much say this about anything). Throughout university, I was forever altering clothes and asking my mum yo help me create, and dismantle items which I had and then alter them into something else.

My mum is an absolute whiz at sewing, creating and all things fabric. She works as a bookkeeper/accountant and really she should get a job-creating costume for the theatre… I’ll keep trying!

Anyways, we have created, altered and embroidered many things including the second most recent project which was my graduation dress – it was two sizes too big and didn’t look the way I wanted, so we fixed it.

The dress.

Recently being in Australia I had been rather bored whilst job hunting and decided to get stitching and painting on one of my denim jackets which I don’t particularly like (I bought a new bright pink one to replace it). I’ve wanted to do something like this for a while but was too scared (which is ridiculous, I know).

I’ve always had an obsession with flowers and anything floral so it seemed right that my first attempt would fit that bill. I used Acrylic paint and a fabric paint medium and hand-stitched the pink parts. I am quite chuffed with how it turned out, it’s not exactly very brave of me or flamboyant but it was a good first attempt.

I decided that I would test the waters and see if I could sell it, so here’s a link to my Depop and Etsy page. I’m also open to any commissions, I am an artist so I could get seriously creative with it. I guess that way it would keep me doing it!

Depop

Etsy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.