Why Tik Tok and animal videos are a match made in heaven

If you haven’t already realised that the only way to survive quarantine is to watch a million animal videos a day, then you must be having the worst time.

The rise of Tik Tok has definitely come at the perfect time as adults are busying themselves with learning dance moves and trying to do handstands, whilst watching cat and dog videos which will make you laugh until your stomach hurts.

I follow so many great animal accounts on Instagram, my favourite being Chicagoblackcat and their second account Furrassic park, where they foster stray or malnourished cats who have had a very hard life and nurse them back to health – they recently fostered two more cats and they are the sweetest, check them out!

Now that I have been introduced to the world of Tik Tok I spend a good half hour of my day watching cat and dog videos as a pick me up. However, one thing that really grabbed a hold of me was when one of my friends posted the Chicago’s Shedd Aquarium in their Instagram story. The Shedd Aquarium is currently shut due to governments quarantine rules, but the animals lives still go on and so do the workers. The animals now have some free time on their hands, as opposed to entertaining hundreds of guests every day.

Naturally the staff have to go in and look after the animals, feed them and play with them – as they would usually do. However, the animals are now being given the chance to explore due to there being no humans wondering around. I’m particular, the penguins have been set free (under supervision) to roam around the aquarium.

On Tuesday they posted an image of one of their penguins exploring the oceanarium exhibition of the aquarium where two penguins came face to face with a Beluga whale named Kayavak. This would have been the first time the penguins have come face to face with a Beluga due to their natural habitat not being from the same part of the world as the Belugas. The Shedd aquarium came equipped with photos and video footage of the moment they met. If you haven’t looked you have too, it was the purest thing I’ve ever seen.

The moment touched me so much I decided to recreate it!

Check out the original image at @Shedd_aquarium on Instagram and the rest of my drawings at @lisacuthbertsonart

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.